GM Volt Forum banner

Center Console Redesign

15K views 40 replies 25 participants last post by  Slapshot28 
#1 ·
"Just a little bit of restraint would have gone a long way in making the Volt’s infotainment system more intuitive. As proof, I’ve created a better solution in five minutes with Photoshop."

http://blogs.automobilemag.com/fix-chevrolet-volt-10447.html

I have no personal experience (yet), but the before and after images help explain his suggestions.

#3 ·
The lack of a mechanical parking brake worries me actually. I've had to use it before in a past vehicle when a hydraulic line in my brake system ruptured. I've been meaning to simulate an emergency in the Volt to determine how it responds while traveling down the road. Also, I can't help but wonder if you had a kid in the front seat who thought it would be a good idea to flick the little switch while traveling at break-neck speed down the interstate... What would happen? This is going to happen at some point to somebody!

#4 ·
The center console issue is both simple and very complex. Yes, there are too many buttons, buttons in illogical places and groupings, buttons that simply don't need to be there (e.g., the TP button, used twice a year by most and a duplicate of functionality available in the Config menu set). But the real issue is much deeper.

If you're the only person available to work the center console controls, it is nearly impossible to do much of anything important with the center console unless you take your eyes from the road. Or work very, very hard to figure out a systematic way to find things without looking, without accidentally touching an extra button, and without hitting the wrong button.