GM Volt Forum banner

Trunk space

21K views 6 replies 5 participants last post by  Aircool6 
#1 ·
Can anyone who actually has possession of, or knows the exact figures of, the trunk space address that question? If I remember correctly, the Volt only has a 10 cubic ft. of trunk space. If that is true, it could be a deal killer as I am a teacher and have two small kids. Therefore, I need all the space I can get. My Ford Probe GT has close to 20 cubic ft. and fold down rear seats. I can use it also like a pickup when I want to. What are the exact dimensions of the trunk in the Volt?

#2 · (Edited)
You may be disappointed...but you do realize the rear seats fold down independently?

From this article: http://usnews.rankingsandreviews.com/cars-trucks/Chevrolet_Volt/Interior/

Cargo
Cargo space is pretty small on the Chevrolet Volt. There is only 10.6 cubic feet of cargo space in the rear, which is less than what’s in the Honda Civicsedan – and the Civic is a compact. There is much less cargo space in the Volt than in the Toyota Prius. Nissan hasn’t released the cargo capacity of the Nissan Leaf yet, but the Nissan Versahatchback, which is smaller than the Leaf, has 17.8 cubic feet in its rear cargo area. The Leaf also lacks a gas tank, which means more cargo space. Reviewers seem to be disappointed in the cargo space in the Volt.

"The cargo space measures 10.6 cubic feet -- quite small for a hatchback."--Cars.com
"Like the Toyota Prius, the Volt features a liftback design that reveals a fairly shallow and narrow trunk."--Left Lane News

#3 ·