GM Volt Forum banner

Long distance purchasers

28K views 90 replies 36 participants last post by  ChrisC 
#1 ·
I'm in Atlanta and have signed on the dotted line with a dealer in northern Virginia, in the Washington DC market. That's 600 miles away. I'd like to hear from others who are doing this as well.

nasaman, are you around? You're in Florida (Space Coast I assume) and also buying from Washington DC, right? That'd be about 1000 miles and would have me beat.

Anyone else? West coast buyers getting theirs from LA dealers?

I really don't intend for this thread to be about WHY. We have our reasons for wanting to be early adopters on this, and believe me I thought hard about this.

But in thinking about this, I realized that this decision is definitely not for everyone, and I wanted to itemize here some key factors that pay in enabling me to take this leap.

1. I know what I'm getting into. I am an electrical engineer and I've been studying this field closely for 2.5 years now (during my spare time). I really do understand the nuts and bolts and what things could go wrong. GM certainly does not need to educate me on the technology.

2. I don't need Level 2 charging for now. Which mean I will NOT need to install a charger, which means I won't need an electrician that understands what I'm installing, a utility that understands what rate plan I'm asking for, or a city inspector that understands what he's looking at. I don't need any of those things because, initially at least, I will be doing only 110V / Level 1 charging. One key reason for GM's limited rollout is they have to train a whole ecosystem of third parties about this, and they want to go slow at first. Fine, but that's not an issue for me.