Important changes to the Dropbox public folder
Dropbox accounts created after October 4, 2012 won't have a Public folder. If you'd like to quickly share files you can use a shared link. Shared links work even if the person you're sharing with doesn't have a Dropbox account.
Dropbox Basic (free) users
As of March 15, 2017 the Public folder in your Dropbox account has been converted into a standard folder. By default this folder is private to your account. This transition will occur automatically.
Here's what you need to know:
- All of the files in your Public folder will remain safe, but public links to those files will stop working
- If someone visits a link to a file in your Public folder, they'll see an error page
- To see a list of your public links, visit the Public folder—any file in this folder will have previously had a public link associated with it
- Dropbox can't convert existing public links into Dropbox shared links
- If you'd like to re-share any of the files in your Public folder, please use a shared folder or shared link
Dropbox Pro, Plus, and Business users can create links to files in Dropbox by dragging and dropping them into the Public folder. Your friends and colleagues can choose to download the file or view it in their browser, and any edits they make will not affect the original version. If you make any changes to the file, however, your edits will be updated within the link. You can also send the links to anyone by pasting them into your emails, instant messages, and web pages.
Sorry folks, NOT paying $20/month just to hold photos, so all of my images are going bye-bye