Charging Volt directly from a solar panel
Grab our Forum Feed

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Charging Volt directly from a solar panel

Default Charging Volt directly from a solar panel

Hi I am a newbie to the volt and also aim to be one of the first Volt owners in the UK.

During the summer months I only use my car occasionally as I try to keep fit by riding my bycycle to work. This leaves me thinking that it may be a good idea to leave the volt plugged into some solar panels to charge up the car when not in use.

OK so nows the technical bit:-

I realise that there are various issues that need to be addressed, but for simplicity lets say that I have a 250w 12v panel plugged into an inverter and the inverter's 240v outlet is then plugged into the volt.

Now you may think that this would, in ideal conditions, work however I am unsure about how much power the volt needs for battery management purposes in order to keep the battery cool and to transform the current from 240VAC to the high voltage DC etc.

What concerns me is that I did hear that the volt takes 10kw of charge plus 2kw of extra power, which I assume may be for battery mangement.

Can someone provide me with the technical answer as to whether the volt will take a charge form 240w power input or whether it will just end up powering the battery cooling system?

I have a 10 KW PV system.. 43 panels @ 240 KW .. only for a brief period of time could I charge the Volt.. The rest comes from power company. I may get between the hours of 10am - 2pm 5kw to 7kw of power.. just about enough to keep the charger running.. if the sun stays constant.. no clouds in between. If power drops below about 4kw.. then the power company has to provide the difference.

But if I produce more than I use at any time my meter rolls backwards so I actually produce more then I use most days.