GM Volt Forum banner

Volt in a Rental Home?

7K views 20 replies 14 participants last post by  Codyozz 
#1 ·
Hi Everyone! I'm a newbie here :) I'm looking into leasing a Volt. I currently live in a rental with no garage so I'm trying to figure out if charging will work for me. We have a one car width driveway along the side of the house, with a gate to the backyard, the driveway continues past the gate into the yard. On the backyard side of the gate is the outlet I would use to charge. I am almost positive that the Volt is too wide to fit through the gate to park next to the outlet, and would have to be parked on the other side (front yard) of the gate to charge via extension cord. The gate is made of thick wood so I'm thinking of possibly trying to get the gate replaced by the owner, or paying to get a new gate that the car could fit through. If the owner vetoes that, would it be okay to charge via extension cord on a consistent basis? I've read other threads about using extension cords and am getting the impression that it would be OK to use an extension cord if it is the right size 14 and under, correct me if I'm wrong.

I would love to have a 240 unit installed at the house, but since it is a rental I think that probably will not go over well with the landlord (he's an ass).

If anyone has any input on the extension cord issue or convincing a landlord to instal the 240 charging unit please let me know!

Also - my employer said that charging units are 'in the works' so I could possibly get my charges at work 5 days a week and only use the extension cord set up at home during the weekends. I have a 6 mile commute. BUT they have no timeline as far as when the chargers will be installed or if they will cost money to use.

See less See more
#2 ·