GM Volt Forum banner

Fast charging!

7K views 13 replies 12 participants last post by  Robinpdx 
#1 ·
How did this critical feature get dropped by the GM Engineering team?

We must now consider charging to handled in 30 minute increments (due to Leaf and Tesla support), the 4 hour public charge is neither viable nor courteous. So the Volt takes up to 8 slots to charge up which as a EV owner is unacceptable!

This means that Volt owners may be shunned from using any public chargers (as most will probably be set to fast charge only to offer the maximum number of users the ability to charge and charging 8 cars is much more efficient than charging 1 car over the same time.

I can see where some would say that since the Volt has a ICE charging is not so vital to it's use but as a driver I prefer to drive on battery rather than the ICE.

GM Engineers need to perform a bug fix and get this issue resolved, as well as back fit all present Volts to support it.

#2 ·
Trying to keep costs down, I think they GM folks made the right choice. Public charging is not going to be very cost effective even with fast chargers. Fast chargers need more significant infrastructure (non-standard power installed), so you can expect to need to pay more for them.

If the Volt needs power it can just run the ICE which is likely going to cost less than a charging station refill for 40 miles. If people fill up at work, it might be an issue but then the Volt really just needs a 120v plug, not a special charger.

#3 ·
How did this critical feature get dropped by the GM Engineering team?<snip>
GM Engineers need to perform a bug fix and get this issue resolved, as well as back fit all present Volts to support it.