: McAfee not happry about gm-volt site today
Warning: Something's Not Right Here!
gm-volt.com contains content from js.secure-softwaremanager.com, a site known to distribute malware. Your computer might catch a virus if you visit this site.
Google has found malicious software may be installed onto your computer if you proceed. If you've visited this site in the past or you trust this site, it's possible that it has just recently been compromised by a hacker. You should not proceed, and perhaps try again tomorrow or go somewhere else.
I though I had all jave installs turned OFF.
------------- edit----------------
AND it want me to download Ilivid
Checking with a different system
using a Ipad I get a google 414 error The requested URL /adiN4917.502835 is too large to process
using Chrome I get a VOICE telling me I have WON !!! using win 7 and no alerts from Kapersky security on this system.
this pop up as well from Google in the js.secure-softwaremanager.com, message
What happened when Google visited this site?
Of the 113 pages we tested on the site over the past 90 days, 0 page(s) resulted in malicious software being downloaded and installed without user consent. The last time Google visited this site was on 2012-06-08, and the last time suspicious content was found on this site was on 2012-06-08.
Malicious software includes 226 exploit(s), 23 virus, 6 adware(s).
Malicious software is hosted on 3 domain(s), including flixsee.net/, sourcesoftware.info/, freeflixapp.net/.
This site was hosted on 30 network(s) including AS14744 (INTERNAP), AS63354, AS3549 (Global Crossing Ltd.).
Has this site acted as an intermediary resulting in further distribution of malware?
Over the past 90 days, secure-softwaremanager.com appeared to function as an intermediary for the infection of 23 site(s) including filehosting2.com/, madisonkidsevents.com/, tinyurl.com/68m5f6s/.
Has this site hosted malware?
Yes, this site has hosted malicious software over the past 90 days. It infected 28 domain(s), including filehosting2.com/, slutload.com/, mymovieninja.com/.
----------------------------------------------------------
Sorry _ I can't tell if one of the ads is doing this or a page link.
MinnesotaWT 06-09-2012, 08:54 AM Generally caused by an ad which if they are simply re-distributing Google stuff it is Google's problem, but if GM hosts the ads themselves it is their problem.
Yes- was late and may not have made it clear an ad or possibility a google ride along was triggering it.
But when a ad wants you to download a special program to view their ad - not good.
voltoronto 06-09-2012, 11:56 PM The pop up ads, audio and video playing, and flashing ads are really annoying. I come to this site way too often, and these ads are making me think twice about visiting. Any chance they can be gotten rid of?
Thanks!
Steverino 06-10-2012, 04:13 AM The pop up ads, audio and video playing, and flashing ads are really annoying. I come to this site way too often, and these ads are making me think twice about visiting. Any chance they can be gotten rid of?
Thanks!
Agreed, Very annoying to be told "I have won!" when I visit the site. And the flashing crap is just as annoying. I also got a popup ad when clicking a post. This site has suddenly turned into a trash bin of crappy talking, flashing ads.
The warnings and such are gone and hard to place the blame -even using chrome some targeted ads seem to sneak in.
That was the first time in a year gm-volt use I had a problem.
I am on late at nigh and the admin does clean up a lot of stuff you morning people will not have to see.
Steverino 06-10-2012, 12:33 PM More site blocking ads today that cover 80% of the home page. I tried to take a screen shot but it disappeared when I clicked to do so. Then I clicked on the first post and the page was hijacked to a new window for http://www.theonlinebusiness.com/preenroll.php?uname=ssd&landingid=9278&promocode=189149&subid1=0010670110915541493. This is really bad.
supermachoman 06-10-2012, 09:30 PM For all those affected, may I recommend blocking ads and malicious URLs with a HOSTS file:
http://winhelp2002.mvps.org/hosts.htm
markie 06-10-2012, 10:31 PM I think that may be a little too advanced for most people. However, there are addons for chrome and firefox.
Chrome: https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/cfhdojbkjhnklbpkdaibdccddilifddb
Firefox: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/adblock-plus/
I usually don't recommend adblockers on sites that i want to support but they need to fix it before people start getting infected. I haven't seen the ads because i usually used an iPad to browse the site which doesn't support the flash ads described.
fotomoto 06-11-2012, 09:36 AM What is going on? I'm constantly barraged with pop ups, audio, and now redirects. Has the server been hi-jacked to some off-shore 3rd world country?
fotomoto 06-11-2012, 09:50 AM However, there are addons for chrome and firefox.
THANKS Markie. That helped tremendously.
DCFusor 06-11-2012, 09:58 AM Yes, adblock plus is a completely cool thing, to the point where I've just forgotten about ads on sites completely. Things go a lot quicker too since you're not tasking your CPU with running all that blinking flashing talking stuff. Firefox on linux - no worries.
Fulgerite 06-11-2012, 10:46 AM I use an iPad. No JAVA. No need for McAfee. Just works.
AySz88 06-11-2012, 03:35 PM Not seeing any of this with regular Firefox on regular Windows 7. I do have MalwareBytes Anti-Malware Pro (with a HOSTS-like blocking feature) but it hasn't given me any signals that it has activated. All clear?
| |